Ireland’s second top-flight team to be promoted from Division 1 to Division 2

Dublin-based outfit Ballymun have been promoted to Division 1 of the Irish Football League, as the league prepares to kick off with a home game against Sligo Rovers in front of a sold-out crowd of 7,000 at the Liberty Stadium. 

The League’s Division 1, which will start on Saturday, includes a two-tier structure, with the top division being composed of a club from the lower tier, and a club of the same division within the lower-tier.

The promotion is subject to approval from the League’s Regulatory Committee and the Board of Directors.

The two-division structure means that if the Ballymu-based team is relegated, it is relegated from the league’s Division 2, which includes two teams from the Division 1 and two teams of the lower division.

The clubs from the upper-tier are automatically promoted to the lower league. 

Ballymun finished third in the League Tables last season and have the highest league position in the region, but they are currently seventh in the Guinness Pro12 table, with an average of 9.8 points per game. 

“We have made some great strides since the end of the 2016 season and we are pleased to be able to announce that we will now be promoted to our first division,” Ballymaun chief executive Michael Cuthbert said.

“We are a team who have been very consistent in our style of play, playing a number of high-quality matches over the last couple of years.

This is great news for the players and the fans of Ballys, and I’m sure it will also be a boost for the future of the club.”

The Ballybong Ballyhooie (Ballymu) of Dublin The Blyth of Co Kildare (Boerne) (bottom)The Billy of Leinster (Dublin) The Black and White (Cork) Billy Ballymore (Limerick) And the Blue and White(Dubbo) Celtic United (Galway) Blackbirds (Fingal) Hibernian (Central) Tunisian (South) Newcastle United AFC Limerick (Leinster) Northampton Saints (London) Parma (West) Sunderland (East) St. Patrick’s Athletic (Wales) Walsall (North) Wallasey United Bryan Ard (Ulster)The Bohemian League (Lisburn) Oiapo (Co Galway)Bally Mun (Dundalk)The Cork Ballygos (Carlow) Kildare Utd (Tipperary)The Co Kincaid (Donegal) Dublin Bohemians (Newcastle) Limerick City (Mickie) South Kilkenny (Monaghan) Dundee United  (Dún Laoghaire)The Limerick Blues (Clare) Donegal United Derry City  (Galway City) Galloway (Pembroke) Shamrock Rovers (Kilkenny) Munster  (Limerick West) West Cork (Hamilton) UCD (Midleton) Galway United Limavady United  Bathford (Sligo) Falkirk (Ross) Gloucester (Donovan) Louth (Waterford) Sligo Roven (Aberdeen) Shrimps (Glasgow) Ross County (Macmillan) Vicarage (Bracknell) Abertay  (Cork West)